This article explains how to configure Google Apps as part of your Shared Accounts authentication method.
Click on Account in the top navigation bar and select School Settings.
Click on the Authentication tab.
Review the options in the modal and click Continue.
Select Shared Accounts from the dropdown.
Select Google Apps.
If you’d like to use Google Apps Directory to pre-add your learners and organizations to your school, choose the option for “App Directory”. If you do not want to use that option, select “Default”.
Perform this step only if you selected the “App Directory” option in Step 6.
Enter the email address for someone in your organization with admin-level access to Google Apps. This user’s email address will be used for accessing your users and organizations within your Google Apps Directory.
Enter a comma-separated list of email domains that will be allowed to authenticate. For example, if you wanted anyone with email addresses ending in @example.com or @mycompany.com to be able to access your school, you would enter example.com,mycompany.com into the box.
Enter your company website.
Your school’s domain will need to be configured on Northpass' system. Once this has been completed, you will receive an email and at that time, the Google Apps sign on will take effect.
If you selected "App Directory" in Step 6, you must also enable the admin API. This is preformed outside of Northpass within your Google account. The values that you will need to configure the admin API can be found after successful configuration of your authentication method.
Get started sharing links to your school. Anyone with an email address matching the domains entered in step 8 will be able to authenticate upon visiting your school. Learners will only see the courses that they have been granted access to. Click here to learn more about managing course access.
If you selected “App Directory” in Step 6, your users and organizations will begin syncing into Northpass automatically as learners and groups hourly. These groups can be used to manage course access. Note that if an organization is deleted from Google Apps Directory, the corresponding group will not be deleted from Northpass. However, if a user is deleted from Google Apps Directory, the corresponding learner will be deleted from Northpass.
Step 13 (Optional)
When using the Google Apps SSO solution, to provide the most seamless experience for learners, consider pre-authorizing the Northpass application. This will remove the step where individual learners need to approve Northpass to use their Google credentials. Click here to learn more about pre-authorizing Northpass.